Posted on

“Ten years ago, I was…”

I am finally going to do one of Mama’s Losin’ It‘s writing prompts. I could probably blog every day straight for the next 2 years if I did all the ones I wanted to. But, today, I chose this one.

There are happy memories associated with it, and…who doesn’t love happy?!

Ten years ago was 2002. I was 22 years old. I had no child, no ties to anything and I lived my life by the seat of my pants.

This….I miss.

I was pining away for my home, California, after having lived in Idaho for nearly 7 years. I was done. I got my crap together long enough to orchestrate an actual move, find a place to stay and find a job.

Which, knowing me was like climbing Everest. It was hard.

I moved back to my hometown and stayed with my best friend since childhood. We had quite a time. We allowed ourselves to act like we were 13 again, yet now…we could do things legally. We shopped, we ate, we drank, we bar-hopped, we apartment hunted and we got on each other’s nerves. It was nearly perfect.

However, the job market sucked and we soon realized we’d need to marry rich men from faraway countries in order to survive. Which, ironically, I got proposed to during this time by a gorgeous guy from Jordan who had tons of moola. And, what did I do? I did nothing. Haha!

This was also a spectacular time in my life, music wise. I always associate good memories (or, sometimes bad ones) with song. I think most people do this whether they realize it or not. For me, this was the time period that I was obsessed with The Strokes, Butch Walker, Toilet Boys (real band, I swear)…and Kylie. Minogue. *gawd* Her album “Fever” was the soundtrack of my life that year…and it went perfectly with my fast, little black sports car I eventually rode into the ground.

There were countless visits to Hollywood, which, holds a special place in my heart. My best friend and I went down one night for a show that ended up getting cancelled….but instead paid a visit to the newly opened “Hustler” store on Sunset. Of course, video cameras were inside and the local news wanted to interview us on our thoughts….I totally said something…I just don’t remember what it was and I never saw if it was aired or not. Lol…“Hi Mom!”

Another evening, which was actually the most vivid memory I have of that time period, occurred on the Hollywood Freeway, the 101. Driving my little sports car, my best friend beside me, we were laughing, blasting the “Blade” soundtrack (lololol) and speeding towards downtown. We came up over a hill and realized suddenly traffic was STOPPED. I hit the brakes, swerved into the next lane and was able to stop in time. Thank god there wasn’t another car beside me and for months afterwards, I could still see the skidmark from my tire on the freeway. We sat there in stunned silence for about 5 minutes, and I truly felt my life had flashed before my eyes. Talk about an adrenaline rush. I don’t think my best friend found it as funny as I did, by the way.

The worst parts about that time? I got my first major credit card and maxed it out in 2 WEEKS.

And, I did come back to Idaho when the money ran out. But, I went back in 2005. That’s a story for another time… =)

Leave a comment